Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
Dimensions: Width: 8' 6" Height: 13' 6" (Sumner and Callahan tunnels - 12' 6")
Weights: Single Axle: 22,400 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 b. Tridem: 36,000 lb. Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
Massachusetts Permit Department Contact Information
7:00 AM - 4:00 PM Eastern
Pilot cars in Massachusetts start at
Width: Over 12'
Height: Over 13'8
Length: Over 80'
On the turn pike and in Boston and on Cape cod the parameters for escorts and police escorts are much lower. Please click the link above to see more in depth detail.
A permit is required if the truck exceeds:
(2 axles) - 46,000 lbs.
Vehicle combination (3 axles) - 73K
Vehicle combinations (4 axles) - 87K
Vehicle combinations (5+ axles) - 99K
Axles spaced less than 6 ft. apart - 18K
Axles spaced more than 6 ft. apart - 22,400 lbs
Overall gross weight of 2 or more consecutive axles - 80K
Source of information: https://www.mass.gov/service-details/commercial-truck-regulations
This permit is issued for 30 days. It's a temporary passage while you wait on your annual decal and must be affixed appropriately to the truck. This is only issued to current IFTA carriers.
This permit is valid for 72 hour's at a cost of 20$ usd. It can be used in place of registering with the state in the IFTA Program. Call the Registry of Motor Vehicles at 857-368-8120 for more information on single trip IFTA Permits.
This permit is valid for 72 hours, and can be used instead of registering with for your IRP plates. The cost is 15$ and can be obtained by the state or a 3rd party permit provider.
First offense 40$
Second offense 80$
3rd offense 155$
Additionally the overweight fines are as follow:
Per 1,000lbs up to 10,000lbs costs 40$Each 1,000lbs over 10,000lbs costs 80$ per 1,000lbs
If no escort is present than an Oversize Load sign is required. Warning signs are required on the front of oversize loads. Size: 7' long, 18" high Letters Black, 10" high, 1.41" Background: yellow
Flags must be red and at least 12" square. Placed on extremities and corners, required for over dimensional vehicles.
Vehicles should will have 2 flashing amber lights visible from front and rear.
All over-dimensional vehicles up to 12 feet in width with a permit may travel from Monday morning to 12pm. on Saturday except for special exceptions. Vehicles between 12' - 14' wide, over 80' but not exceeding 114' in length and over 13' 11" height may travel under permit only during sunrise to sunset, except no travel is permitted between 7:00 am - 9:00 am and 3:30 pm- 7:00 pm, Monday through Friday. Saturday and Sunday until 12:00 pm (noon). Vehicles over 14' wide, and/or over 115' long may travel between the hours of 9:30 a.m. - 3:30 p.m. and only on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. Travel prohibited on legal holidays.
Studded tires are only allowed between November 2 and April 30 and only allowed in the rear of the trailer, The fine for violating this law is $50. Snow chains are not illegal during snow storms, nor are they required. The one exception are triple-axle trucks, which must have one pair on an opposite set of wheels during snow storms. The minimum tire thread depth is 2/32 inches. Tires must have at least 2/32 inches of tread depth in the proper grooves and no fabric breaks or exposed cords.
Tire max weight formula 2200: i.e., 92" w/b x 58" w/t = 5336/2200 = 2" (maximum mechanical lift).
The max combined values shall not be greater than the sum of all the parts combined. The less of the two shall be taken as the maximum weight.
Max Dims to obtain an annual os/ow permit. Only valid for 1 year.
(Over 13’8″ requires a height survey
Any sectional, mobile, modular home exceeding 13'6 in total height or 100' in total length will not be granted a permit on state highways.
Modular, sectional or mobile homes between 12' and 14' wide may travel only under permit during daylight hours Monday through Friday, except that no such travel will be allowed between the hours of 7:00 - 9:00 A.M. or between the hours of 3:30 - 7:00 P.M.
The maximum width is 16', but the routes are limited to this width.
Single Trip $40
Annual Overweight Permit "Construction vehicles only" $400
Source of information: https://www.mass.gov/manufactured-housing