Massachusetts Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

Massachusetts enforce maximum truck laws through fines. In this state there is no law that explicitly provide prison terms for maximum weight violations. Weight violation first offense thirty five dollars ($35) plus five dollars safety surcharge ($5), second offense seventy five dollars ($75) plus five dollars ($5) safety surcharge, third offense one hundred and fifty dollars ($150) plus five dollars ($5) safety surcharge. c90 §19A weight violation with irreducible load ten dollars ($10) per thousand pounds (1,000 lbs) or fraction thereof overweight, but not more than five hundred dollars ($500).

WEIGHT

FINE

per 1,000 lbs. or fraction thereof overweight up to 10,000 lbs

$40

1,000 lbs or fraction overweight over 10,000 lbs

$80

https://www.mass.gov/files/documents/2016/08/nc/citable-civil-motor-vehicle-offenses.pdf

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXIV/Chapter90

https://malegislature.gov/Laws/GeneralLaws/PartI/TitleXIV/Chapter85

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io