Minnesota Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

Driving an overweight vehicle in Minnesota is considered a misdemeanor. Civil liability:

The owner or lessee of a vehicle that is operated with a gross weight in excess of a weight limit imposed under sections 169.823 to 169.8295, 169.84 to 169.851, and 169.87 or a shipper who ships or tenders goods for shipment in a single truck or combination vehicle that exceeds a weight limit imposed under sections 169.823 to 169.8295, 169.84 to 169.851, and 169.87 is liable for a civil penalty. Notwithstanding any other law to the contrary, if a person found guilty of a violation of a weight limit imposed under this section or sections 169.823 to 169.8295, 169.84 to 169.851, or 169.87 is also found by the court to have knowingly and contemporaneously attempted to evade a fixed weigh station or to otherwise avoid weighing by means of stationary scales under section 169.85 or other law, the court must impose a penalty of twice the amount.

WEIGHT

FINE

Up to 999 lbs over

$50 + general surcharge $75

1,000 – 1,999 lbs over

$100 + general surcharge $75

2,000 – 2,999 lbs over

$200 + general surcharge $75

3,000 – 3,999 lbs over

$300 + general surcharge $75

4,000 – 4,999 lbs over

$400 + general surcharge $75

5,000 – 5,999 lbs over

$500 + general surcharge $75

6,000 – 6,999 lbs over

$600 + general surcharge $75

7,000 – 7,999 lbs over

$700 + general surcharge $75

8,000 – 8,999 lbs over

$800 + general surcharge $75

9,000 – 9,999 lbs over

$900 + general surcharge $75

10,000 or above

$1.000 + general surcharge $75

http://mncourts.gov/mncourtsgov/media/scao_library/Statewide%20Payables/2017-Traffic-Criminal- Payables-Lists.pdf

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169.871

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/?id=169

http://www.dot.state.mn.us/const/tools/docs/sec-380.pdf

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io