The power of the permit agency in the palm of your hand
Automate your oversize/overweight quotes, axle compliance and permits with oversize.io
49-1013. Penalties for violations. (1) It shall be unlawful and constitute a misdemeanor for any person to violate any of the provisions of this chapter, except that violations of law as specified in paragraphs (a), (b) and (c) of subsection (3) of this section shall constitute an infraction.
(2) Persons convicted of violations of the provisions of sections 49-434A, 49-1003 and 49-1006 through 49-1012, Idaho Code, shall be subject to punishment by a fine of not to exceed three hundred dollars ($300) or by imprisonment in the county jail for not more than thirty (30) days or by a combination of such fine and imprisonment. (3) Persons convicted of violations of the provisions of sections 49-438, 49- 1001, 49-1002, 49-1004 and 49-1005, Idaho Code, shall be subject to a penalty as prescribed herein: one (1) pound through one thousand (1,000) pounds overweight shall be five dollars ($5.00) and shall constitute an infraction. In addition to the penalties specified in this subsection, one hundred fifty dollars ($150) for failure to deploy a variable load suspension axle which results in adjacent axles exceeding allowable weight by two thousand one (2,001) pounds or more. Persons convicted of an infraction or misdemeanor for violating two (2) or more of the provisions of section 49-1001, 49-1002 or 49-1004, Idaho Code, at any one (1) time shall be assessed the full amount of the penalty for the primary violation. In addition to the assessment of the penalty for the primary violation, the person convicted of an infraction or misdemeanor shall be assessed a penalty of ten dollars ($10.00) for each additional misdemeanor conviction or five dollars ($5.00) for each additional infraction for violations of section 49-1001, 49-1002 or 49-1004, Idaho Code, committed at the same time. If Idaho catches you four thousand pounds or more over gross on a Friday they might send you to jail for the weekend until the judge gets in on Monday.
1 – 1,000 lbs
1,001 – 2,000 lbs
2,001 – 4,000 lbs
4,001 – 15,000 lbs
$25 + .13 cents per pound for each additional pound over 4,000 pounds overweight
15,001 – 20,000 lbs
$1,500 + .20 cents per pound for each additional pound over 15,000 pounds overweight
20,001 lbs and over
$2,500 + .30 cents per pound for each additional pound over 20,000 pounds overweight