Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
Dimensions: Width: 8' 6" Height: 13' 6" Length: Truck-Semi-trailer 75' Legal Overhang: included in length limits
Weights: Single Axle: 20,000 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 lb. Tridem: 42,000 lb. Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
Minnesota Permit Department Contact Information
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM Central
Loads over 14’6” wide, 110’ long, 16’ high require lead and rear escorts on 2-lane (non-divided) roadways.
Only the rear certified escort on multi-lane (divided) roadways.
Escort Oversize Banner
escorts are required the escort vehicle must display “Wide Load” or
“Long Load” signs along with amber warning lights visible from a
distance of no less than 500 feet. Radio
communication between the permitted vehicle and escort vehicle is
required. An escort driver must be at least 18 years of age and possess a
valid driver’s license.
Pilot Car Sign and Flag Requirements
pilot/escort vehicle must display a qualifying, clearly visible, legible, "OVERSIZE LOAD" sign mounted on
the top of the vehicle.
The pilot/escort vehicle must be equipped with at least one flashing yellow or amber light. These lights must be visible for 360 degrees for all traffic. Lights must be AAMVA/SAE/USDOT-approved yellow or amber, flashing or oscillating, strobe lights visible from a minimum distance of 500 feet under normal atmospheric conditions.
An AAMVA/SAE/USDOT-approved yellow or amber, flashing or oscillating, strobe beacon light bar must be used, mounted on top of the pilot/escort vehicle. The light bar must have a minimum of two lights within the housing of the light bar. The light bar must be unobstructed and visible for 360 degrees.Pilot/Escort Flagging Requirements
the movement of an overdimensional load, the pilot/escort driver, in
the performance of the flagging duties required by this chapter, may
control and direct traffic to stop, slow, or proceed in any situation
when deemed necessary to protect the motoring public from the hazards
associated with the movement of the overdimensional load. The
pilot/escort driver, acting as a flagger, may aid the overdimensional
load in the safe movement along the highway designated on the
overdimensional load permit.
Escort pilot cars drivers must be trained and certified by the MN State Patrol, or possess a valid certification from another state that MN has reciprocity with. For more information, visit https://www.hennepintech.edu/workforce-education/programs-workforceeducation/pilot-escort-driver-training.html
The following are the axle combinations and weights for Minnesota.
Axle Group Legal Category A Category B Category C
Single 20,000 lb. 20,000 lb. 20,000 lb. 20,000 lb.
Tandem 34,000 lb. 18,000 lb. 19,000 lb. 20,000 lb.
Tridem 8"+ 42,000 lb. 16,000 lb. 18,000 lb. 20,000 lb.
9' 43,000 lb. 18,000 lb.
11' 6" 51,500 lb. -- 15,500 lb. 18,000 lb.
Quad 12' 6"+ 51,000 13,000 lb. 15,500 lb. 18,000 lb.
13' 6"+ 51,500 lb. 15,500 lb. 18,000 lb.
5-Axle GVW 80,000 lb. 84,000 lb. 88,500 lb. 92,000 lb.
6-Axle GVW 80,000 lb. 96,000 lb. 104,500 lb. 112,000 lb.
7-Axle 2 Tridem Groups 80,000 lb. 108,000 lb. 120,500 lb. 132,000 lb.
7-Axle 1 Tandem, 1 Quad 80,000 lb. 100,000 lb. 112,500 lb. 124,000 lb.
8-Axle GVW 80,000 lb. 112,000 lb. 128,500 lb. 145,000 lb.
9-Axle GVW 80,000 lb. 128,000 lb. 140,500 lb. 155,000 lb.
120 Hour Trip Permit
$15, plus $10 filing fee. One permit per vehicle every 30 days; issued up to 80,000 lbs.
120 hour Fuel Trip Permit
$25, no filing fee. No limit to the number of permits issued.
The following are penalties for a vehicle operated with a gross weight in excess of specified weight limit. If the operator knowingly operated the vehicle at the excess weight, the fines will be doubled.
Up to 999 lbs over
$50 + general surcharge $75
1,000 – 1,999 lbs over
$100 + general surcharge $75
2,000 – 2,999 lbs over
$200 + general surcharge $75
3,000 – 3,999 lbs over
$300 + general surcharge $75
4,000 – 4,999 lbs over
$400 + general surcharge $75
5,000 – 5,999 lbs over
$500 + general surcharge $75
6,000 – 6,999 lbs over
$600 + general surcharge $75
7,000 – 7,999 lbs over
$700 + general surcharge $75
8,000 – 8,999 lbs over
$800 + general surcharge $75
9,000 – 9,999 lbs over
$900 + general surcharge $75
10,000 or above
$1.000 + general surcharge $75
"Oversized Load" Banner
Oversize Load signs required on front and rear of vehicle when width exceeds 12’6” and/or length exceeds 95’. Signs must be lighted or of reflective material between sunset and sunrise and visible at least 500’.
Red, orange or yellow warning flags, 18" square, must be displayed when a vehicle or its load exceeds 9’ in width or 75’ in length. Flags are required at: Widest points of the load, At the end of overhang in excess of 4', and every 20' along the outside of the load.
Warning Lights: Color and Placement
At night, a steady light at: Widest points of the load, at the end of overhang in excess of 4', every 20' along the outside of the load
At night, when over 12’6” wide or when combination is over 95’ long, lead and rear escorts OR approved LED lighting package is required.
Warning lights are required whenever signs
are required. Lights may be flashing, strobe, or rotating beacon and
must be visible from a distance of no less than 500’.
In general, OSOW travel is not restricted for loads up to 14’6” wide; 110’0” long; 16’0” high, unless noted otherwise on the permit.
Holiday Travel Restrictions: No OSOW travel is allowed statewide from 2:00 p.m. the day before the holiday to 2:00 a.m. the day after the holiday, when exceeding 9’0” wide and/or 110’0”long.
Summer Travel Restrictions: (weekend after Memorial Day thru weekend before Labor Day) No oversize travel allowed from 2:00 - 8:00 p.m. on Fridays and Sundays, when exceeding 9’0” wide and/or 110’0” long.
Rush Hour Restrictions: (Twin Cities & Duluth Metro areas) No OSOW travel Monday thru Friday from 6:00 a.m. – 8:30 a.m. and 3:30 p.m. – 6:00 p.m. when exceeding 14’6” wide and/or 110’0” long and/or 16’0” high, unless noted otherwise on the permit.
Night Travel Restrictions: (Twin Cities Metro only) OSOW night travel only allowed 12:00 a.m. – 5:00 a.m. (Monday thru Friday, unless noted otherwise on permit) when exceeding 14’6” wide while on non-divided roadways, and when exceeding 16’0” wide while on divided roadways.
Except as provided in this section, no tire on a vehicle moved on a highway shall have on its periphery any block, stud, flange, cleat, or spike or any other protuberances of any material other than rubber which projects beyond the tread of the traction surface of the tire.
It is permissible to use tire chains of reasonable proportions upon any vehicle when required for safety because of snow, ice, or other conditions tending to cause a vehicle to skid
Occasional use of studded tires by nonresidents.
A person, occasionally operating a motor vehicle properly licensed and registered in another state or province of a foreign country which authorizes the use of tires with metal studs on its highways, may operate the motor vehicle with tires having metal type studs. Use of a vehicle in this state formore than 30 days in any consecutive six-month period is not occasionally.
Note: A person whose regular place of employment is within the state or who is a student at an educational institution located within the state, shall not operate a vehicle, regardless of its place of registration, upon any highway within the state if such vehicle is equipped with tires which would be unauthorized were the vehicle registered in this state.
The Minnesota Department of Transportation institutes maximum load restrictions in the spring of the year. Specific dates for reduced lad weights are usually published in early March of the year, ending the higher winter load limits.
Frost zones and restricted routes can be found on the MnDOT load limits map. Start and end dates and other load limit information are shown at mndot.gov/loadlimits. Overweight permits for more than 80,000 pound gross vehicle weight will continue and new permits will be issued if all axle and group weights are legal (axle weight limits).
The Minnesota weight limits pamphlet and map can be found at:
This is a tabbed table showing dates and routes subject to seasonal restrictions, maps, weight information, seasonal load limits, etc.
A Temporary Trip Permit is issued in lieu of IRP plates for travel within Michigan. The fee for a Temporary Michigan Trip Permit is $20 and is valid for 72 hours. Permits can be obtained through a permitting service, who will charge an additional processing fee.
A Temporary Fuel permit is issued in lieu of IFTA licensing for travel within Michigan. The fee for a Temporary Michigan Fuel permit is $20 and is valid for 5 consecutive days. Permits can be obtained through a permitting service, who will charge an additional processing fee. No more than 3 permits can be obtained per calendar year.
Summer safety tipsDrivers traveling too fast and not paying attention are the main causes of work zone crashes. Follow these safe driving tips:
Winter safety tips;
Manufactured Homes and Manufactured Storage Buildings Annual Permit
This Permit is required for new and used mobile homes. Storage sheds are allowed with this permit type.
A route approval is required.