Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
Dimensions: Width: 8' 6" Height: 13' 6" Single vehicle: 46' Truck-trailer combo:75' Overhang: Front 3', and rear: 6'
Weights: Single Axle: 20,000 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 lb. Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
Vermont Permit Department Contact Information
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM Eastern
Escort vehicles are required when the vehicle and/or load meet or exceed the following dimensions or at the discretion of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles or his/her authorized representative:
Axle Group Maximum
Single 22,400 lb.
2 Axle Group 42,000 lb.
3 Axle Group 54,000 lb.
4 Axle Group 60,000 lb.
Gross Vehicle Weight 80,000 lb.
Axle Group Maximum
Single 22,400 pounds
2 Axle Group 42,000 pounds
3 Axle Group 54,000 pounds
4 Axle Group 60,000 pounds
Gross Vehicle Weight 80,000 pounds
When considering permits for weight up to one hundred fifty thousand (150,000) pounds the Department may consider the application within the Department if there are sufficient axles on the vehicle to distribute the weight at the rate of twenty thousand (20,000) pounds per axle with dual wheels and twelve thousand (12,000) pounds per axle with single wheels, commonly steering axles. If the weight exceeds a total that can be covered by this formula it will be denied. Further consideration may require additional information or an engineering review.
3-Axle Straight Trucks 60,000 lb.
4-Axle Straight Truck 69,000 lb.
and 5 or more Axle Truck/Tractor Semi-Trailer Combos 72,000
to 76,000 lb.
with proper axle spacing.
Super Loads 150,000+ lb. Engineering inspection required
With a trip permit, and provided you meet other requirements of the member jurisdiction, your vehicle is entitled to be operated intrastate and interstate for the period allowed under such permit. Trip permits require a USDOT number.
Out of state vehicle, eligible for apportioned registration and not apportioned with Vermont will be required to purchase a 72 hour trip permit for a fee of $15.00 plus additional permit service fees.
Trip permits may be obtained online at www.vermont.gov/DMV/irp
Fines for Overweight Conditions
0 – 5,000 lbs $15 for each 1,000 lbs overweight
5,001 – 10,000 lbs $30 for each 1,000 lbs overweight
10,001 – 15,000 lbs $45 for each 1,000 lbs overweight
15,001 – 20,000 lbs $60 for each 1,000 lbs overweight
20,001 – 25,000 lbs $90 for each 1,000 lbs overweight
25,000 lbs and over $150 for each 1,000 lbs overweight
Fines for subsequent overweight violations shall be computed with the following percentage increases: upon a second conviction of a violation occurring within one year, five percent; upon a third conviction of a violation occurring within one year, ten percent; upon a fourth or subsequent conviction occurring within one year, 15 percent.
Lights are required on any load that extends 4 in. or more beyond the overall width of the vehicle at the foremost edge, rearmost edge, and along the rear edge if it projects 4 ft. or more beyond the body of the vehicle shall be marked with red lamps visible from the rear and the side that show the full width of the load."Oversize Load" Banner
Oversize load signs are required on all vehicles/loads over 8'6" width, 13'6" height and 75' length. This
sign shall, which shall read "OVERSIZE LOAD," be at least 7’ long by
18” high with yellow background and black lettering. Letters shall be at least
10” high with a 1¼” brush stroke. The sign shall be made of durable material
that will not be affected by inclement weather and be kept in legible condition.
Flags are to be bright or fluorescent red or orange and have a minimum size of 18 in. x 18in.
1. Over Width Loads: At least 4 flags mounted at the corners of the vehicle if the vehicle is oversize and at the corners of the load if the load is oversize. In cases of irregular shaped loads such additional flags as may be necessary to mark the widest extremities of the load.
2. Over length loads or loads with rear or front end overhang in excess of 4’ shall display one flag at the end of the overhang if less than 2’ wide and 2 flags if the overhang is 2’ wide or more.
Travel with vehicles and/or loads which are overwidth or overlength or overheight shall be restricted to daylight hours and movement shall be made between thirty (30) minutes before sunrise to thirty (30) minutes after sunset.
Loads over 10’ 6” wide or over 100' long or in excess of 108,000 lb. must follow the week end and holiday restrictions: no movement on any Saturday, Sunday, any Friday afternoon between July 1 and Labor Day, or on the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Martin Luther King Day, President’s Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Columbus Day, Veteran’s Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day.
The State may require the use of tire chains on specified portions of State highways during periods of winter weather for vehicles with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of more than 26,000 pounds or gross combination weight rating (GCWR) of more than 26,000 pounds.
When tire chains are required, advance notice shall be given to the traveling public through signage and, whenever possible, through public service announcements. In areas where tire chains are required, there shall be an adequate area for vehicles to pull off the traveled way to affix any chains that might be required.
Chains are required:
For a vehicle that has a:
(A) single-drive axle shall have chains on one tire on each side of the drive axle
(B) that has a tandem-drive axle shall have chains on two tires on each side of the primary drive axle; or if both axles are powered by the drive line, on one tire on each side of each drive axle.
During winter thaws, rainy periods or when frost begins to melt, the Agency of Transportation may post state highways. Permits DO NOT supersede road postings.
For up-to-date road conditions and restrictions, go to: http://newengland511.org/ and select "trucking" at the top of the page and "Vermont" at the top of the map.
A Blanket Permit is the written authorization granted by the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles for the movement of a vehicle or combination vehicle and its non-divisible load with prescribed limits of size and/or weight over State/Interstate highways.
Note: Vehicles obtaining blanket permits for weight must be registered to the maximum limit and so configured as to legally meet the road limit.
The vehicle shouldn’t exceed the following dimensions:
Blanket Permit Fee - $112.00,
Additional Units Within The Fleet - $6.00
Time, it takes to receive: 1 business day
Mailing method: online
Commodity specific? Truck specific
Need to obtain a route? No
Work zones require everyone to stay alert and be prepared for sudden changes that distracted drivers may not notice in time to prevent a crash. It is up to each of us to be vigilant when driving through or near highway work zones. Using handheld portable electronic devices (including cell phones, PDAs, MP3 players, etc.) while operating a moving vehicle in a work zone may incur Penalties range from $100 to $200 and 2 points for a first violation, and from $250 to $500 and 5 points for subsequent violations.
that work zone means any properly posted construction, maintenance or utility
work site, and rules apply 24/7, not just during the workday.
• Slow down! Speed limits are reduced and fines for speeding are doubled
• Follow instructions from flaggers and signs.
• Pay extra attention, expect the unexpected.
• Be courteous, and merge as instructed, as soon as it is safe to do so.
• Don’t change lanes in the work zone, tailgate, or crowd the road crew.
• Expect delays and schedule extra time, or seek an alternate route.
• Be patient. Remember that they’re working hard to improve the roads for all of us.
Single Trip Permit
Maximum Size Limits:
Length: 90’ – 0” or less
Height: 13’ – 6” or less
Width: 14’ – 0” or less
+For Modular and Mobile homes an additional 6” of overhang for eaves only will be allowed providing the greater overhang is on the right- hand shoulder side of the highway.
Expiration: Single Trip Permits may be issued to cover a single trip within 7 business days of issuance. When the trip will exceed the 7 business day limit, a new permit will be required. Extensions of time may be granted at the discretion of the Commissioner of Motor Vehicles or his/her authorized representative.
Mailing method: Fax, mail