The power of the permit agency in the palm of your hand

Automate your oversize/overweight quotes, axle compliance and permits with oversize.io

See how it works

Texas Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

Vehicles found to be illegally overweight in. Texas are presently fined, from $100 to $150 for the first offense (within one year of the first offense), $150 to $250 for the second offense (within one year of the first offense), and $200 to $500 for the third offense (within one year of the second offense). The second offense can also lead to imprisonment of up to sixty days, while the third offense can lead to imprisonment of up to six months. While the driver of an overloaded vehicle is charged with the offense, recent legislation (Article &701d-11, Section 5b) has made it possible to also prosecute the person responsible for overloading the vehicle.

WEIGHT

FINE

Less than 2,500 lbs

$100 - $500

2,500 – 5,000 lbs

$500 - $1.000

5,001 – 10,000 lbs

$1.000 - $2.500

10,001 – 20,000 lbs

$2.500 - $5.000

20,001 – 40,000 lbs

$5.000 - $7.000

More than 40,000 lbs

$7.000 - $10.000

https://www.uvm.edu/~vlrs/doc/vehicle-reg.html

https://www.txdmv.gov/motor-carriers/oversize-overweight-permits/compliance

https://www.dps.texas.gov/cve/permits.htm

https://library.ctr.utexas.edu/digitized/texasarchive/phase3/919-1f_ctr.pdf

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io