Oversize/Overweight Permits And Regulations Online

Automate your quotes, axle compliance and permits with Oversize.io

See how it works

Connecticut Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

Overweight trucks in Connecticut are subject to an incremental fine schedule pursuant to CGS § 14-267a. Citations may be issued by specified state police, local police, and Department of Motor Vehicle (DMV) inspectors (CGS § 14-267a(g)). Overweight fines are enforceable through the criminal courts by prosecutors. Connecticut's Penal Code

would also permit charging the owner or operator of an overweight truck with reckless endangerment. First-degree reckless endangerment is a Class A misdemeanor punishable by up to one year in prison, a fine of up to $2,000, or both. Second-degree reckless endangerment is a Class B misdemeanor punishable by up to six months in prison, a fine of up to $1,000, or both. Fines for weight violations are calculated by reference to a vehicle's percentage over the legal weight. A fine can be applied to gross vehicle weight violations and axle weight violations. Thus, the potential fine is determined by how much the truck's weight exceeds the legal weight. As the percentage overweight increases, the fines increase

Percent Overweight

Dollar Fine per Hundred Pounds

Minimum Fine

<5%

$3

--

5-10%

5

$50

10-15%

6

100

15-20%

7

200

20-25%

10

300

25-30%

12

500

>30%

15

1,000

https://www.cga.ct.gov/2007/rpt/2007-R-0214.htm

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io