Dimensions: Width: 8' 6" Height: 14' Semi-trailer of 2 vehicle combo: 59' Two-vehicle combo: 65'
Weights: Single Axle: 20,000 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 lb. Tridem: 42,000 lb. Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
Texas Permit Department Contact Information
6:00 AM - 6:00 PM Central
Dimension Measurement Number and Placement of Escort(s
14' to 16' 1 Front
– two-lane highway
Exceeding 16' 1 Front and 1 Rear – all roads
17' 1 Front
– equipped with height pole
1 Front and 1 Rear – all roads
18' 1 Front - equipped with height pole
1 Front and 1 Rear – all roads
110' to 125' 1 Front
– two-lane highway
1 Rear - divided highway
Exceeding 125' 1 Front and 1 Rear – all roads
Front overhang exceeds 20' 1 Front - two-lane highway
1 Rear – four or more lane highway
Rear overhang exceeds 20' 1 Rear – all roads
If a load exceeds escort requirements in two dimensions, front and rear escorts are required.
Special provisions are allowed for convoys of up to four loads to travel together.
Maximum Legal Weight Allowed
Texas has established size and weight limits for vehicles and loads moving with or without oversize and/or overweight permit on Texas roadways and bridges. Weight includes the weight of the vehicle or combination, plus the weight of the load being transported.
Axle Group Maximum
Single 20,000 pounds
Tandem 34,000 pounds
Triple 42,000 pounds
Quadrum 50,000 pounds
Gross Vehicle Weight 80,000 pounds
Note: An axle group must have a minimum spacing of 40 inches between axles within the group. The Federal Bridge Formula is to be used to determine the maximum legal weight on any group of two or more consecutive axles.
Maximum Permit Weight Allowed
The maximum permit weight for an axle or axle group is based on 650 pounds per inch of tire width or the following axle or axle group weight, whichever is the lesser limit.
Axle Group Maximum
Single 25,000 pounds
Tandem (Two Axle) 46,000 pounds
Tridem (Three Axle) 60,000 pounds
Quadrum (Four Axle) 70,000 pounds
Quint (Five Axle) 81,400 pounds
Six or More Axles Requires engineering study of the equipment and measurements.
Interstate motor carriers are required to pay state fuel use tax and have the option to obtain an International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) license that provides for the consolidated reporting of fuel taxes or a fuel trip permit.
The fuel trip permit costs $50.00. For information on obtaining an IFTA permit or a fuel trip permit, refer to the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts.
A non-refundable processing and handling fee of $4.75 is assessed per permit. The fee covers the cost to process the permit.
72-Hour Permit - $25
144-Hour Permit - $50
Note: Personal checks will not be accepted.
You may purchase permits in advance of a proposed trip and several permits may be obtained at one time with the times of validity to run in chain-like fashion, having one permit become effective immediately upon the expiration of the preceding one.
Vehicles found to be illegally overweight in. Texas are presently fined, from $100 to $150 for the first offense (within one year of the first offense), $150 to $250 for the second offense (within one year of the first offense), and $200 to $500 for the third offense (within one year of the second offense).
The second offense can also lead to imprisonment of up to sixty days, while the third offense can lead to imprisonment of up to six months. While the driver of an overloaded vehicle is charged with the offense, recent legislation has made it possible to also prosecute the person responsible for overloading the vehicle.
Fines for Overweight loads are:
Less than 2,500 lb. $100 - $500
2,500 – 5,000 lb. $500 - $1.000
5,001 – 10,000 lb. $1.000 - $2.500
10,001 – 20,000 lb. $2.500 - $5.000
20,001 – 40,000 lb. $5.000 - $7.000
More than 40,000 lb. $7.000 - $10.000
No lighting requirements are mentioned for haul vehicles. Escort vehicles may require warning lights.
In Texas, signs are required only on escort vehicles.
One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset, including Saturday and Sunday.
Loads not exceeding 10 ft. wide, legal height (14 ft.) or 10 ft.′ long with legal front and rear overhang may travel at night on Interstate system only.
Overweight only may have continuous movement.
City/county curfew times are listed on permit.
Travel allowed on major holidays depending on dimension
All tires on a vehicle will have proper tread depth of at least 2/32 of an inch and be in safe operating condition.
All tires must appear to be properly inflated - even though a gauge check is not required.
Tires should be inspected visually, and the tread should be measured with a tread depth gauge calibrated in 32nds of an inch if it does not have tread wear indicators.
A tire used on a moving vehicle may not have on its periphery a block, stud, flange, cleat, or spike or other protuberance of a material other than rubber that projects beyond the tread of the traction surface, unless the protuberance:
(1) Does not injure the highway
(2) Is a tire chain of reasonable proportion that is used as required for safety because of a condition that might cause the vehicle to skid.
Annual Envelope (Company or Vehicle Specific) $4,000
Trip fee: A fee based on the number of counties chosen for travel is added to the base and administrative fee
Number of Counties County fee NEW total fee
1-5 $175 $270
6-20 $250 $345
21-40 $450 $545
41-60 $625 $720
61-80 $800 $895
81-100 $900 $995
101-254 $1000 $1095
Time, it takes to receive: 1 business day
Mailing method: online
Commodity specific? Truck specific
Need to obtain a route? No
TxDOT and the government of Texas urge people driving through work zones and areas that are under any type of construction to slow down.
Respect traffic signs and stay alert while driving through these zones.
TxDOT advises to stay calm and be patient when driving through work zones, reduce speed and pay attention to signals, flaggers, and other drivers.
There is a Work Zone awareness campaign in effect where TxDOT reminds the drivers about Move Over/Slow Down law that requires drivers to move over or slow down when approaching TxDOT crews, law enforcement, emergency vehicles or tow trucks stopped on the roadside or shoulder with flashing blue or amber lights.
Failure to do so can result in fines up to $2,000.
Single Trip Permit
TxDMV issues a single-trip permit for the movement of manufactured housing or buildings exceeding Texas legal size limits when transported on any returnable undercarriage or temporary chassis system.
Single-trip manufactured housing permits may only be used for one movement, during the times specified on the permit (not to exceed five days.
You may not transport manufactured housing on the following holidays: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, and Christmas Day.
Manufactured housing exceeding legal gross, axle or axle group weights must obtain a General Single-Trip Permit.
In the case of a double-wide manufactured house, moving on its own set of axles, each half requires a permit. To move the double-wide manufactured house as one unit on a set of house moving dollies requires a permit for a house move.
A manufactured housing annual permit is for the transportation of a manufactured house from a manufacturing facility to a temporary storage location, not to exceed 20 miles from the point of manufacture.