Oversize/Overweight Permits And Regulations Online

Automate your quotes, axle compliance and permits with Oversize.io

See how it works

New Jersey Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

A person violating this section shall be subject to a fine not exceeding $1,000.00. In default of the payment thereof imprisonment in the county jail for a period not exceeding 10 days shall be imposed. The owner and operator of any vehicle used in violation of this section shall be responsible to the municipal or other corporation owning or maintaining such bridge, or to the State if such bridge is maintained by the State, for any damage done to the bridge by reason of the violation. New Jersey Police Officers will usually enforce the Weight Restriction Violations under either NJSA 39:3-20.3 (Overweight as to Gross Vehicle Weight - GVW) or under NJSA 39:3-84 (Overweight on the Axles). The first Violation NJSA 39:3-20.3 leads to much higher fines than the latter NJSA 39:3-84. The Fines for being overweight as to the GVW are $500 for the first 1,000 pounds and then $100 for each 1,000 pounds thereafter.

WEIGHT

FINE

Up to 10,000 lbs

$.02 per pound in excess weight

10,001 and above

$.03 per pound in excess weight

http://www.nj.gov/oag/hts/downloads/09_Vehicle_Size_Weight_Plan.pdf

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io