Georgia Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

Any person who violates the load limitation provisions of Code Section 32-6-26 shall be conclusively presumed to have damaged the public roads, including bridges, of this state by reason of such overloading and shall recompense the state for such damage in accordance with the following schedule: five cents (5) per pound for all excess weight over the allowed weight limitations, including any applicable variances, for the following vehicles, damages for excess weight shall be assessed at hundred and twenty five (125%) percent times the rate imposed on offending vehicles operating without a permit. Within 30 days after the issuance of the citation, the owner or operator of any offending vehicle shall pay the amount of the assessment to the Department of Public Safety or request an administrative determination of the amount and validity of the assessment. The Overweight Citations Unit is responsible for collecting and processing monetary fines imposed on trucks for being overweight when issued a citation on a Georgia highway by the Commercial Vehicle Enforcement Unit of the Motor Carrier Compliance Division.

WEIGHT

FINE

For all excess weight over the allowed limits

5 cents per pound

https://ops.fhwa.dot.gov/freight/policy/rpt_congress/truck_sw_laws/app_a.htm#al

https://dps.georgia.gov/overweight-citations

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io