Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads

  • Instantly Determine Permit & Escort Costs
  • Calculate Max Legal/Permitted Axle Weights
  • Understand Equipment Limits
See How It Works

Nevada Oversize / Overweight Regulations

What is considered as "Oversized Load" in Nevada?

Dimensions: Width: 8' 6" Height: 14' Semi Trailer Length: 53' Maximum Length: 70' (75' with rear overhang0 Legal Overhang: Front/Rear: 10'

What is considered as "Overweight Load" in Nevada?

Weights: Single Axle: 20,000 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 lb. Tridem: 42,000 Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.

Nevada Oversize / Overweight Permits

Nevada Permit Department Contact Information


Fax: 775-888-7103

7:30 AM - 4:45 PM Pacific

Nevada Pilot Cars / Escorts

Width                                 Roads                           Pilot Car

Exceeds 12 ft              2/3 lane roads                  Front

Exceeds 14 ft (1)        2/3 lane roads                  Front and Rear

Exceeds 14 ft (2)        4 or more lanes                Rear   

Height Exceeds          15 ft 5 in.                           Front with Clearance Pole

Length                          Exceeds 110 ft.                Rear

Overhang - Front        Exceeds 25 ft in front      Front

Overhang - Rear        Exceeds 25 ft in front       Rear

Nevada Axle Regulations

Maximum Legal Weights

Single Axle:                                20,000 lb.
Tandem Axle:                             34,000 lb.
Maximum Gross Weight:         80,000 lb.

Note: The maximum weight per tire, measured by pounds per inch of tire width, does not exceed 600 pounds per inch for a steering axle and 500 pounds per inch for all other axles.

The maximum overall Gross Weight on any group of two or more consecutive axles does not exceed the values set forth in the following formula:

W=500 [LN/(N-1) + 12N + 36]


W  = the maximum load in pounds carried on any group of two or more consecutive axles computed to the nearest 500 pounds;
L = the distance in feet between the extremes of any group of two or more consecutive axles; and
N = the number of axles in the group under consideration.

Two consecutive sets of tandem axles may carry a gross load of 34,000 pounds each if the distance between the first and last axles of the consecutive sets of axles is 36 feet or more.

Maximum Permit Weight Allowed

Tandem Axles - 60,000 pounds – Purple Weight Chart (Purple Chart is referring to Single Trip Permits only)

Note For calculating maximum weights use the Federal Bridge Formula

Nevada Trip and Fuel (IRP / IFTA) Permits

Out of state commercial vehicles with a Combined Gross Vehicle Weight Rating of 10,001 pounds or more are required to get a registration permit before entering the state.

Fuel tax permits are required for vehicles 26,001 pounds or more or any vehicle with three or more axles.

For Nevada-based carriers, Motor Carrier branch offices issue 24 hour permits (120 hours for buses) for temporary registration and special fuel taxes.

Fees for registration are $6 plus 15 cents per mile.

Special fuel permits are a flat $31.

Nevada Overweight / Oversize Fines

It is unlawful for any person to operate or move any vehicle or equipment described in NRS 484D.615 or 484D.685 to 484D.725, inclusive, over any highway without first obtaining a permit, or to violate or evade any of the terms or conditions of the permit when issued.

Overweight  Fines

Amount Over Weight                                 Fine

1 – 1,500 lbs                                              $10.00                             

1,501 – 2,500 lbs                                      $.01 per pound excess weight                        

2,501 – 5,000 lbs                                      $.02 per pound excess weight                     

5,001 – 7,500 lbs                                      $.04 per pound excess weight  

7,501 – 10,000 lbs                                    $.06 per pound excess weight  

10,001 and over                                         $.08 per pound excess weight  

Running Hours and Holiday Restrictions

"Oversized Load" Banner Requirements

All oversize vehicles (excess of 8’6″ wide) width must:

Display “OVERSIZE LOAD”  or "OVERSIZE" signs front and rear.

Signs, 10-iin. black letters on yellow background

Flag Requirements

Warning flags
 Used only during daylight hours
Solid Red or Fluorescent color
18 in. square
At outermost corners and on any projections

Warning Lights: Color and Placement

During the hours of darkness:
Two amber, steady-burning lights on the extreme front of the vehicle
Amber steady-burning lights midway on both sides of the load
On and overhang of 4 ft or more, two amber steady-burning lights that indicate maximum width of the overhang
All lights must be visible from a distance of 500 feet

Note: You must have a Nevada Light Permit to run flashing revolving amber warning light(s) or even to travel with it turned off but uncovered.

All oversize vehicles (excess of 8’6″ wide) must run with low beam headlights ON. 

Flags, Lights and Banners

Running Hours

One-half hour before sunrise to one-half hour after sunset:
Loads NOT exceeding 12 wide, 15′ high, 110′ long are permitted for night travel.

Loads NOT exceeding 14′ wide, 15′ high, 110′ long, are permitted for weekend travel (except in restricted areas)

Holiday Travel (New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day) is usually permitted for loads not exceeding 12 wide, 15′ high, 110′ long.

Spring thaw weight restrictions exist on some secondary routes approximately February through April.

Nevada Tire Regulations

Tire chain usage is permitted for hazardous weather or other related incidents only but may not damage the highway surface.

“Tire chain” includes:

A device that provides additional traction to the wheels of a motor vehicle on a slippery surface; and

A snow tire that may be used on a motor vehicle in this State must:

(a) Have a tread consisting of ribs, lugs, blocks or buttons that:

(b) Have a tread with a minimum depth of 3/16 inch when measured in any two adjacent grooves at any location on the tread.

Nevada Frost Laws

Nevada is somewhat ambiguous on frost and thaw travel restrictions. One reference suggests "Frost Laws" are in effect from February 1 through (about) April 30. Nevada provides a map (frost law map), but it is lacking details or any substantive guidance.

Nevada's online DOT site is less than informative on this topic.

Nevada Annual Permits

Maximum allowable dimensions are :

                                Weekdays: Daylight Hours                         24 Hours, 7 Days a week, 365 days a year

Width                      14 ft.                                                             12 ft.
Height                     15 ft.                                                             15 ft.
Length                     110 ft                                                           110 ft.
Overhang                25 ft                                                             15 ft
Weight                     Purple (under 7 axles)                              Purple (under 7 axles)

Valid for one year from date of issue.

NDOT highly recommends that permittees plan at least 30 days in advance of any desired movement .

COMMODITY PERMIT: allows legal dimension reducible loads up to 70’ in length to run over 80,000 lbs but be legal axle weights.

Cost: Over Dimensional Vehicle Annual - $ 60

Nevada Road Conditions

Work Zone Driving Safety Tips

Slow to posted work zone speed limits.

Minimize distractions, such as cell phone use.

Make any necessary work zone merges in advance and do not weave in and out of traffic when not needed.

Only make lane changes when necessary and use proper turn signals for lane changes.

Use a safe following distance from cars ahead

Don’t tailgate. The most common highway work zone crash is the rear-end collision.

Obey flaggers and all traffic warning signs

Plan ahead and give yourself time to reach your destination.

For information on works zones dial ‘511’ or log onto

Nevada Manufactured Houses and Mobile homes

1.  The Department of Transportation may, upon application in writing, if good cause appears, issue a special or multiple trip-limited time permit in writing authorizing the applicant to move a manufactured or mobile home, or any other similar type of vehicle or structure, in excess of the maximum width, but not exceeding 120 inches exclusive of appendages that must not extend beyond 3 inches on either side.

Permits for the movement of homes, vehicles or structures as provided for in this section may be issued only to licensed manufacturers, dealers, owners and transporters .

The insurer must furnish evidence of insurance verifying coverage of the overwidth home, vehicle or structure in the amount of $100,000 because of bodily injury to, or death of, one person in any one crash, in the amount of $300,000 because of bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one crash and in the amount of $50,000 because of injury to or destruction of property of others in any one crash.

2. A permit which has been issued for the movement of a manufactured or mobile home, or a similar type of vehicle or structure, is not valid between sunset and sunrise.

Multiple trip permits may be issued. 

“Wide-load” signs and red flags must be on the front of the towing vehicle and on the rear of the home, vehicle or structure.

As an additional warning to approaching traffic, the towing vehicle must be operated with the headlights turned on low beam.

The driver of the towing vehicle shall do everything possible to prevent the congestion or slowing down of traffic in either direction because of the overwidth home, vehicle or structure and shall, if necessary to maintain the normal flow of traffic, drive the towing vehicle and the home, vehicle or structure off the pavement where safe to do so, in order that traffic may pass.

When two or more homes, vehicles or structures in excess of 120 inches in width are moved over the same highway in the same direction, the drivers of the towing vehicles shall maintain a distance of at least 1,000 feet between vehicles.

Oversize / Overweight Regulations By State