Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
Dimensions: Width: 8' 6"' Height: 13' 6" Length: Semi-trailer 53' Overall: 74' Legal Overhang: 74' overall.
Weights: Single Axle: 20,000 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 lb. Tridem: 42,000 lb. Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
Maine Permit Department Contact Information
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM Eastern
Legal weight limit established for the vehicle type and axle configuration:
Axles Legal Weight Limit
2-Axles Vehicle 34,000 lb.
3-Axle Vehicle 54,000 lb.
4-Axle Truck 69,000 lb.
5-or More Axle Vehicle 69,000 lb.
3-Axle Combo of Vehicles 54,000 lb.
4-Axle Combo of Vehicles 69,000 lb.
5-Axle Combo of Vehicles 80,000 lb.
6-Axle Combo of Vehicles 100,000 lb.
Maximum Permit Weights for which a Permit may be granted with out review
2-Axle Vehicle 39,100 lb.
3-Axle Vehicle 62,000 lb.
4-Axle Truck 73,000 lb.
4-Axle or more or Special Mobile 110,000 lb.
4-Axle Truck Tractor-Semi 120,000 lb.
5-Axle Truck Tractor-Semi 130,000 lb.
6-Axle Truck Tractor-Semi 140,000 lb.
7-Axle Truck Tractor-Semi 159,000 lb. - (167,000 lb. (Depending on axle group limits)
8-Axle Truck Tractor-Semi 177,000 lb.
Maine-registered motor vehicles that travel to another IRP jurisdiction, and which have a gross weight in excess of 26,000 pounds or three or more axles on the power unit, must be registered in the IRP.
Qualified motor vehicles from another IRP jurisdiction must have Maine on the cab card or have a valid Maine IRP trip permit prior to entering Maine.
Vehicles from non-IRP jurisdictions may operate into or through Maine in interstate commerce only. Non-apportioned vehicles operating intrastate must register in Maine or obtain trip permits.
Motor vehicles are registered on the basis of combined gross weight - total weight of the vehicle and maximum load to be carried. For combination vehicles, the gross weight is on the power unit. A motor vehicle may not be operated in excess of the maximum weight allowed for its configuration without additional permits.
72 -hour IRP Trip Permit ($25.00 + $3.00 Fax Fee)
In lieu of fuel tax licensing you may obtain trip permits. Maine's 72 Consecutive Hour Fuel Trip Permit may be obtained through a permit service or directly through the Fuel Unit by calling (207) 624-9000 ext. 52137. The fee is fifty dollars ($50) for 72 consecutive hours.
IFTA Fuel Trip Permit ($50.00 + $3.00 Fax Fee)
Combination IRP/IFTA Trip Permit ($75.00 + $3.00 Fax Fee)
A person guilty of excessive vehicle weight must be punished by a fine in accordance with this section. When both gross and axle weight limits are exceeded, the penalty imposed must be for the violation that results in the higher fine except that.
Minimum fine. For a vehicle using the Interstate Highway System, the minimum fine for a gross vehicle weight or axle weight violation is $60, which may not be waived, and cost of court.
For a vehicle on all other highways, the minimum fine for a gross vehicle weight or axle weight violation is $30. A person who operates vehicle in violation of a weight provision for any axle or group of axles or gross vehicle weight commits a traffic infraction and subject to fines as indicated below:
Weight over basic Allowed Weight Fine
1 - 10% $10 for each percent
11 - 20% $100 + $65 for each percent over 10%
21 - 30% $750 + $75 for each percent over 20%
31 - 40% $1,500 + $105 for each percent over 30%
41 - 50% $2,550 + $180 for each percent over 40%
More than 50% $3,950 + $180 for each percent over 50%
"Oversize Banner" Requirements
"OVERSIZE LOAD": Warning signs are required on the front and back of all oversize loads. Size: 7' long, 18" high Letters Black, 10" high, 1.5" brushstroke Background: yellow
All Oversize Loads: Four flags 18" square bright red flags on all four corners of the extremities of over width load.
Run with headlights on low beam and flashing or rotating amber light or light bar on top of cab.
are not routinely permitted 1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour before
sunrise, legal holidays (New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day,
Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas) and weekends in July and
August. except for equipment moving entirely within the seven northern
Oversize loads may
travel on the Maine Turnpike from ½ hour before sunrise until ½ hour
after sunset (daylight hours). The total height is limited to 13’6” and
total width is limited to 14’6”.
Studded tires are permitted from October 2 to April 30. Permissible when icy road conditions exist. Permits can be issued to use studded tires during prohibited months.
A motor vehicle may not be operated on a public way unless it is equipped with tires in safe operating condition. A tire mounted on a motor vehicle is not considered to be in safe operating condition unless it meets the visual and tread depth requirements set forth in subsections 3 and 4 and the vehicle is in compliance with the frame height requirements provided in section 1920.
A tire is not in safe operating condition if that tire has:
A fabric break or a cut in excess of one inch in any direction and deep enough to reach the body cords.
A temporary repair by the use of blowout patches or boots.
A bump, bulge or knot related to separation or partial failure of the tire structure.
A portion of the ply or cord structure exposed.
Sidewalls damaged to the extent that the body cords are damaged.
A tire is not in safe operating condition if it is worn to the point where less than 2/32 inch of tread design remains at all points at which gauge readings are required.
Tire tread depth must be measured by a tread depth gauge that is calibrated in 1/32 inch.
Readings must be taken in all major tread grooves and must include at least 2 points not closer than 15 inches.
Readings for a tire that has the tread design running across the tire must be taken at or near the center of the tire at 2 points of the circumference not closer than 15 inches.
Each spring, Maine DOT evaluates potential damage to state highways and determines whether weight restrictions should be imposed to prevent damage due to freeze/thaw action.
Many municipalities undertake similar evaluations and restrictions on local road systems.
This means that a road that can carry a 15-ton load in the summer or winter may only be able to carry a 5-ton load as it thaws.
A posted state road's maximum weight limit is 23,000 pounds. The posting is temporary and is designed to protect a road while it is vulnerable.
For up-to-date road conditions and restrictions, go to: http://newengland511.org/ and select "trucking" at the top of the page and "Maine" at the top of the map.
For information about local road postings, please see the "Locally Posted Roads" Section or contact the appropriate municipal office:
Time, it takes to receive: 1 business day
Mailing method: Email, Fax, PDF (self-print), or mail
Commodity specific? Truck specific
Need to obtain a route? No
When it comes to safety on the road in Maine, the rules one should follow are the same like with other states in order to avoid crashes and fatal injuries. Workers in these areas are vulnerable to serious injury, as are vehicle occupants.
Mobile Home Movement Requirements
1. Mobile homes and semitrailers used to haul modular homes must be registered before a permit is granted. Mobile homes must have a dealer or transit plate affixed to the back of the home.
2. Before a permit is granted to transport a mobile home the applicant must provide the Overlimit Permit Unit with:
The registration information for the mobile home (dealer or transit plate number); and
The required mobile home identification information which is the year, make, color, and serial number.
3. Before a permit is granted to transport a modular home the applicant must provide the Overlimit Permit Unit with:Tthe registration information for the semitrailer (plate number); and
The serial number of the home to be transported.
4. Previously used mobile homes require a current tax release (MV-47 or MV-47E) from the town of origin, prior to being issued a permit. The tax release must be complete and include an official town stamp. Homes coming from a sales lot or from out-of-state do not require this form.
5. Additional dimensional requirements are imposed for mobile and modular homes.
A. If the home is 11 feet six 6 inches or wider, when measured at the base
(1) Towing Vehicle:
Must have dual wheels on the drive axle, and a gross vehicle weight rating of 26,001 lbs. or more.
Vehicles of at least 20,000 lbs. gross vehicle weight rating in use as of July 1, 1995 by the permittee may continue to be used until permanently taken out of the mobile home moving service by that permittee.
Other Safety requirements:
Red or fluorescent orange warning flag must be displayed on each corner
The unit to be moved must be equipped with clearance lights and reflectors.
Safety chains must be attached so as to prevent breakaway from the towing vehicle.
B. If the home is greater than 11 feet 6 inches to and including 13 feet 6 inches in width
No permitted travel is allowed one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise or on Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, and other days designated the Secretary.
one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise; on Friday after 12 o’clock noon or on Saturday, Sunday, legal holiday, and other days designated the Secretary.Police escorts
The Secretary, with the advice of the Commissioner, may require a police escort for the entire move or portions thereof.The configuration shall be equipped with two additional amber lights. The lights shall be at least six inches in diameter for intermittent flashing lights or four inches in diameter for rotary type lights at the rear and above the sign at the extreme edges or width of the mobile home.
D. Additional requirements are imposed if the unit is 14 feet 6 inches in width including:
No permitted travel is allowed one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise; or on Thursdays followed by a Friday legal holiday, Friday, Saturday, Sunday, legal holidays; and on additional days as the Secretary, with the advice of the Commissioner, may designate
One Pilot (or escort) vehicle is required behind the load on divided highways, and two escort vehicles are required on all highways except divided highways.
Police escorts may be required.