Automate your quotes, axle compliance and permits with Oversize.io
Rhode Island all enforces maximum truck weight laws through fines. There are no laws in any of this state that explicitly provide prison terms for maximum weight violations. Rhode Island levies fines of sixty five dollars ($65) for every pound over the legal weight up to ten thousand pounds (10,000 lbs) overweight, and fines of one hundred twenty five dollars ($125) for every pound above ten thousand pounds (10,000 lbs) overweight (R.I. Gen. Laws ch. 31 § 31-25-16). The overweight penalty for vehicles being operated in excess of one hundred four thousand, eight hundred pounds (104,800 lbs.) gross vehicle weight shall be one thousand twenty-five dollars ($1,025) in addition to the penalties enumerated above.
Less than 10,000 lbs
$65 per pound overweight
Greater than 10,000 lbs
$125 per pound overweight