Oversize/Overweight Permits And Regulations Online

Automate your quotes, axle compliance and permits with Oversize.io

See how it works

Michigan Oversize and Overweight Fines and Penalties

The statute provides that an owner, operator, or driver of a vehicle shall pay a civil fine. Civil fines go up to five hundred dollars ($500). The court has discretion in imposing a fine if a determination has been made that a vehicle was misloaded. If the court determines that a misload in one or more axles exists by four thousand pounds or less, the court may impose a misload fine of $200

per axle. However, not more than three individual axles can be used to calculate the fine.

Michigan Vehicle Code (MCL 257.724):

WEIGHT

FINE

Over 1,000 lbs

$.03 per pound for each pound of excess

Over 2,000 lbs

$.06 per pound for each pound of excess

Over 3,000 lbs

$.09 per pound for each pound of excess

Over 4,000 lbs

$.12 per pound for each pound of excess

Over 5,000 lbs

$.15 per pound for each pound of excess

Over 10,000 lbs

$.20 per pound for each pound of excess

The court may also impose a $200.00 fine per axle (not exceeding 3 axles) if there is a misload of between 1,000 to 4,000 pounds on one or more axle. A $400.00 fine per axle (not exceeding 3 axles) may be imposed if there is a misload of between 4,000 to 8,000 pounds on one or more axle. If the driver or owner of the vehicle fails to stop or bypasses a weigh station, he/she is guilty of a misdemeanor.

HB 5453 (S-2):

WEIGHT

FINE

1,000 – 2,000 lbs

$.06 for each pound in excess

2,001 – 3,000 lbs

$.12 for each pound in excess

3,001 – 4,000 lbs

$.18 for each pound in excess

4,001 – 5,000 lbs

$.24 for each pound in excess

5,001 – 10,000 lbs

$.30 for each pound in excess

10,001 lbs

$.40 for each pound in excess

https://www.legislature.mi.gov/documents/2013-2014/billanalysis/senate/pdf/2013-SFA-5453-U.pdf

Calculate Oversize/Overweight Load Regulations and Prices Instantly with Oversize.io