Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
Dimensions: Width: 8' 6 " Width on Interstates: 3' per side for safety equipment Height 13' 6" Length: 53' (Trailer) Legal Overhang: Front 3', Rear 6'
Weight - Roads except Interstates Axle - 22,400 lb. Tandem Axle - 40,000 lb. 3-Axle - 66,000 lb. 4-Axle - 73,280 lb. 5-axle - 80,000 lb. WEIGHT - Interstates Axle - 22,200 lb. Tandem Axle - 34,000 lb. 3-Axle - 54,000 lb. 4-Axle - 74,000 lb. 5-axle - 80,000 lb.
Delaware Permit Department Contact Information
Fax: Refer to email address link
8:00 AM - 4:00 PM Eastern
Escort vehicle(s) shall be a single unit non-permitted vehicle, no smaller than a compact car. The escort vehicle shall not be attached to any other vehicle.
Length: At 85' one rear escort or pilot cart. At 100' one rear and one front escort.
Width: Over 12' Rear or Front escort depending on if you are on a multi-lane highway or two lane highway. Over 14' 1 rear 1 front escort or pilot car.
Height: At 15' one front and one rear escort or pilot car.
Overhang: At 15' one rear escort is required.
Escort vehicle(s) shall escort only one oversize vehicle or load. More restrictive conditions may be required on high volume highways or when the lane width is less than 12 feet.
The escort vehicle shall be behind an over width vehicle or load on a multi-lane highway, and in front of an over width vehicle or load on a two-lane highway.Escort vehicles shall have visual contact with the permitted vehicle and have two-way radio communication with the driver of the permitted vehicle.
Axle Weight Regulations (Interstate)
Single 20,000 lb
Dual Axle 40,000 lb
Tridem 54,000 lb
Quadrem 74,000 lb
Quint 80,000 lb
The maximum legal axle weights on all roads except the interstate are:
Single Axle 22,400 lb
Tandem Axle Group 40,000 lb
2 Axle Vehicle 40,000 lb
3 Axle Vehicle 65,000 lb
4 Axle Vehicle 73,280 lb
A permit is
required if the Gross Vehicle Weight (GVW) exceeds the limits imposed by
statute. Vehicles that do not exceed Gross Vehicle
Weight but do exceed individual axle weight(s) will require a permit.
Required for carriers based elsewhere that do not have Delaware on their IRP cab card. Must have prior to entry into Delaware. Valid in Delaware only.
Temporary Fuel Permit
Delaware may provide for the issuance of a 30-day IFTA temporary permit to a carrier in good standing in lieu of display of the annual decals. This permit may be obtained from the Delaware Motor Carrier Services Section/IFTA Unit.
Failure to carry the temporary permit may subject the vehicle operator to the purchase of a trip permit and a citation.
A 72-Hour Permit can be issued for Reciprocity Trip and/or Fuel permits. Permits are necessary for carriers based in another jurisdiction when traveling into Delaware who are not properly registered for Delaware. This permit allows interstate and intrastate movements. Seventy two hour permits are vehicle specific and valid for 72 hours/3 days.IRP State of Delaware https://www.dmv.de.gov/services/TransServ/MC/IRP/index.shtml
Delaware Oversize and Overweight Penalties
In Delaware any person that violates size and weight limits of a vehicle or combination of vehicles shall be punished as follows:
(1) A first offense shall be punishable by a fine of not less than $28.75 nor more than $230 or by a term of imprisonment of not more than 30 days or both.
(2) A subsequent like offense shall be punishable by a fine of not less than $115 nor more than $575 or by a term of imprisonment of not more than 60 days or both.
Any person whose violation is classified as an "overweight vehicle," shall in addition to whatever other penalties may be allowed by law be punished as follows:
(1) A first offense: 2.3 cents per pound up to 5000 lb; 5.75 cents per pound over 5,000 lb, or imprisonment not to exceed 30 days
(2) Each subsequent offense (within 24 months): 5.75 cents per pound up to 5,000 lb; 11.5 cents per pound over 5,000 lb., and/or 60 days imprisonment or both.
For purposes of this section a first offense shall be defined as one not previously committed by the person charged within the previous 24 months prior to the date of the offense. A subsequent like offense shall be deemed to have occurred if the person charged has previously been convicted or charged and subsequently convicted of the same offense within the previous 24 months prior to the date of this offense.
Oversized/weight hauling trucks and pilot cars will have low beam lights on at all times.
Amber lights are required when night time travel is being utilized.
For wide loads, amber lights must be attached to the widest point of the piece being moved. This light should be visible from 500 feet away.
Vehicles with a valid permit may move Monday through Friday from sunrise to sunset and on Saturday from sunrise to 12 Noon unless otherwise authorized or prohibited by other requirements in this section. Delaware Department of transportation also reserves the right to restrict moves when ever they see fit in order to ensure public safety.
Permitted loads not exceeding 75 feet in Length, 12 feet in Width, 14 feet 6 inches in Height, and 120,000 pounds will be allowed to move from 9pm to 5am Monday through Friday with prior approval. DelDOT also reserves the right to restrict moves within this time period on a case-by-case basis in order to minimize impacts to the traveling public and to ensure public safety.
Studded tires are permitted from October 15 - April 15 and tire chains of reasonable proportions may be used upon any vehicle when required for safety because of snow, ice or other conditions tending to cause a vehicle to slide or skid.
Tread depth must be at least 2/32 inch measured in two adjacent treads.
Projections from periphery of tires; exceptions.
tire on a vehicle moved on a highway shall have any protuberances of any
material other than rubber that projects beyond the tread of the
traction surface of the tire.
(b) The use of studded tires is permitted from October 15 to April 15.Every person convicted of a misdemeanor for a violation of any of the provisions of Sections 121 ( restrictions as to tire requirement ) shall be punished for the first offense by a fine of not less than Ten Dollars ($10.00) nor more than One Hundred Dollars ($100.), or imprisonment for not less than ten (10) days nor more than thirty (30) days, or both such fine and imprisonment, and for each subsequent like offense shall be punished by a fine of not less than Fifty Dollars ($50.00) nor more than Two Hundred Dollars ($200.00), or by imprisonment for not less than fifteen (15) days nor more than thirty (30) days, or by both such fine and imprisonment.
No annual permits are issued by Delaware.
Work Zone Safety Tips
Permit used for movement of Manufactured Housing (Mobile Home, Modular Housing, or Office Trailer).
Type - Single Trip
Fee - $10.00
Duration - Five (5) days.