Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
Dimensions: Width: 8' 6"" Height: 13' 6"" Truck-Semi-Trailer: 70' Overhang:
Weights: Single Axle: 20,000 lb. Tandem axle: 34,000 lb. Max Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
Wisconsin Permit Department Contact Information
8:00 AM - 4:30 PM Central
When Escort Vehicles are required:
-When any part of the load or vehicle extends beyond the left of roadway centerline - one escort vehicle
Width over 15 ft. up to 16 ft. (frequently) - one front escort vehicle
On any highway designated by permit - one or more escort vehicles
Width over 16'-2 (one front and one rear escort vehicle)
Over 125' long-2 (one front and one rear escort vehicle)
Same as 2- lane except when any part of vehicle/load extends beyond the left of the right hand lane.
Width over 14' (on certain highways) - one escort vehicle
Width over 16’-police/private escort: one rear on divided highways; one front and one rear on non-divided highways
Maximum Legal Weight Allowed
A permit is typically required if vehicle weights exceed:
Axle Group Maximum
Single 20,000 pounds
Tandem 34,000 pounds
Any One Wheel or Wheels Supporting One End of an Axle 11,000 pounds
Truck Tractor Steering Axle 13,000 pounds
Gross Vehicle Weight 80,000 pounds
Wisconsin’s 72-hour trip permits authorize one round-trip into and out of Wisconsin. For vehicles registered in Iowa, Michigan, and Minnesota, a trip permit is needed beyond the reciprocity zones.
Only applicants wishing to move vehicles into Wisconsin that are not registered in Wisconsin nor enrolled into either IRP or IFTA are eligible for 72-hour trip permits. Applicants who want to move unregistered vehicles within or out of Wisconsin are not eligible. The 72-hour trip permit may not be purchased to authorize movement of unregistered vehicles for trips beginning in Wisconsin.
Exempt "for hire" carriers operating intrastate must have Wisconsin authority and insurance on file prior to obtaining a trip permit.
US Department of Transportation exempt "for hire" carriers must have Wisconsin authority and insurance on file prior to obtaining a trip permit.
Most applicants buy both registration and fuel, but the temporary registration and the in-lieu-of fuel tax portions may be purchased separately. The fee for each part is $15, for a total of $30 if both are purchased.
Payment may be made with a valid credit or debit card (Visa, MasterCard, Discover or American Express) or ACH (Automated Clearing House) payment from your checking or savings account. Your credit or debit card will be charged a convenience fee for this service. There is no convenience fee charged for ACH payment.
This permit is not accepted in electronic format and must be presented in paper form. Please print the final permit.
Whenever any owner or operator is convicted of violating weight/overweight laws or any local ordinance in conformity with weight/overweight laws or any ordinance enacted under s. 349.15 (3), the clerk of the court in which the conviction occurred, or the judge or municipal judge, if the court has no clerk, shall, within 48 hours after the conviction, forward a record of conviction to the department. Forfeiture of bail or appearance money or payment of a fine is a conviction within the meaning of this section.
For the first conviction in the year the fine will be between fifty ($50) and two hundred ($200) dollars. For the first conviction in the year the fine will be the above costs plus the following:
1 – 2,000 lb. $.01 cents per pound overweight
2,001 – 3,000 lb. $.03 cents per pound overweight
3,001 – 4,000 lb. $.05 cents per pound overweight
4,001 – 5,000 lb. $.08 cents per pound overweight
5,001 lb. and over $.15 cents per pound overweight
For the second conviction in the year the fine will be between one hundred ($100) and three hundred ($300) dollars plus the following:
1 – 2,000 lb. $.02 cents per pound overweight
2,001 – 3,000 lb. $.05 cents per pound overweight
3,001 – 4,000 lb. $.08 cents per pound overweight
4,001 – 5,000 lb. $.12 cents per pound overweight
5,001 lb. and over $.18 cents per pound overweight
Fines are assessed based on the permit weight. Operators may be fined for either over axle or over gross, whichever produces the greater fine. If overload does not exceed 1000 lb.., driver may shift the load and avoid penalty, or pay a $50 penalty to continue travel if he does not shift the load.
When required by a permit, warning lamps shall be operated as follows: When required, lights should be amber flashing or revolving warning lamps with 6 in.-diameter reflectors, bright enough to be clearly visible at 500'. Strobe lamps may be used in lieu of flashing or revolving lamps.
When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is more than 10 feet wide or is overlength, 2 warning signs shall be displayed. One sign shall be fastened at the front of the power unit and the other at either the rear of the towed unit or at the rear of the load.
Each sign shall state, in black letters on a yellow background “OVERSIZE LOAD” and may not be less than 7 feet long and 18 inches high. The letters of the sign may not be less than 10 inches high with a brush stroke of not less than 1.4 inches. The sign message may not be displayed when the vehicle is not operating under a permit.
Each flag shall be solid red or orange in color, and not less than 18 inches square.
When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overwidth, a flag shall be fastened at each front and rear corner of the load.
In addition, if any part of the load is more than 4 inches wider than the width of load or vehicle at the front or rear, than a flag shall be placed at the widest point of the load.
When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength, a single flag shall be fastened at the extreme rear of the load if the overlength or projecting portion is 2 feet wide or less.
When a vehicle, load, or vehicle and load is overlength 2 flags shall be fastened at the rear of the load to indicate maximum width if the overlength or projecting portion is wider than 2 feet.
For vehicles/loads not exceeding 12' wide, 13' 6" high, or 150' long: No hours of operation restrictions.
Travel in Columbia, Dane, Milwaukee, Rock or Waukesha counties, operation restricted: 4 pm and 8 pm on Sunday and 4 pm and 8 pm Friday between the 4th Friday in May and Labor Day.
Vehicle /load dimensions exceeding the above may not be operated (1) during hours of darkness, (2) between 4 pm and 8 pm on Fridays 4th Friday in May and Labor Day, (3) noon Saturday to sunrise Sunday, and (4) 4 pm and 8 pm on Sunday.
Other restrictions apply to Milwaukee County Expressway.
All automobiles, motor trucks, motor buses, truck tractors, trailers, semitrailers, recreational vehicles, and mobile homes when operated upon a highway shall be completely equipped with tires inflated with compressed air and all other motor vehicles when operated on a highway shall be equipped with tires of rubber or of some material or construction of equal resiliency.
Tire chains of reasonable proportions may be used on any vehicle when required for safety because of snow, ice or other conditions tending to cause a vehicle to skid.
A pneumatic tire may have embedded in it wire or wire coils for improving traction on ice and snow, but such tire shall be so constructed that the percentage of wire or wire coils in contact with the roadway does not exceed, after the first 1,000 miles of use or operation, 5 percent of the total tire area in contact with the roadway. During the first 1,000 miles of use or operation of any such tire the wire or wire coils in contact with the roadway shall not exceed 20 percent of the total tire area in contact with the roadway.
Tires equipped with tungsten carbide studs shall be limited in usage and design as follows:
1. The department shall, by rule, designate the times of year during which any type of tire described in this paragraph may be used.
2. Such tires may be used only on authorized emergency vehicles, school buses, vehicles used to deliver mail and automobiles with out-of-state registrations and then only if such automobile is in the course of passing through this state for a period of not more than 30 days.
3. Such studs shall not project more than one-eighth inch beyond the tread surface of the tire.
Effective as of Saturday, March 2020, Wisconsin's frozen road law expanded to include regions designated by the Wisconsin Department of Transportation (WisDOT) as Zone 3 and 4. The expansion covers the state except for Zone 5 in southeast Wisconsin.
The frozen road determination for Zone 5 will be made once conditions warrant.
The frozen road law allows heavier loads for trucks carrying logs cut crosswise (not including woodchips), and salt and sand for winter maintenance while cold weather allows.
WisDOT and county highway personnel monitor temperature forecasts, along with frost tubes -- liquid-filled devices under pavement -- to help determine when roads are adequately frozen to accommodate heavier loads.
The declaration is issued once the ground under highway pavement is frozen to a depth of at least 18 inches, allowing the maximum gross weight for trucks hauling logs or salt and sand for maintaining roads in winter to go up to 98,000 pounds on vehicles with a minimum of five axles (from the normal 80,000 pounds). Special permits for hauling the increased weights are not required in Zone 1, but vehicles must be legally licensed at 80,000 pounds to handle the increased weights. The higher weight limits do not apply to county or local roads unless authorized by the local agency having maintenance authority. Also, higher weights may not be transported on any highways or bridges specifically posted for lower weight limits.
• Allow unlimited trips
• Are available for range of 3 to 12 months
• Valid on all roadways (some local conditions, for example, posted bridges or roads, may restrict movement)
• Carrier responsible for own routing
• Multiple trip permits for divisible loads are not valid during spring thaw except where specified in permit descriptions
Sealed container (CM)
• This permit is for the transportation of a sealed load
• “Sealed load” means a load of commodities or products, being transported in a vehicle or container, which has been sealed with a tamper-evident seal affixed at the time of initial loading
• The load must be in transport as a stage in international trade
• Issued for weights 80,001 to 90,000 lbs.
• Vehicle or vehicle combination must have a minimum of six axles
• Weights must comply with weights in 348.15 (3) (c) and 348.29
• Permit valid on all interstate highways
• Must be ordered through our online Self Issue System
Each year in Wisconsin, both highway workers and motorists are killed and injured in crashes that happen in highway construction zones.
To protect themselves and highway workers, drivers need to slow down whenever they see flashing lights, or move over, if possible, to leave the lane beside the work zone open. In some construction areas, lowered speed limits are posted and must be obeyed at all times.
Remember, when you enter a work zone, be
For moving buildings such as houses, garages or other structures as defined below
"Building" means a dwelling or other structure (or portion of) with one or more overall transport measurements exceeding 12 ft. wide, 14 ft. 3 inches high, or 100 ft. long, that is raised and supported from an existing foundation to be moved and placed on a permanent foundation at a new location where the building is to be delivered; "building" does not include a modular housing unit or manufactured building or home:
· Valid for 5 days, valid for one trip only
· Route is specified
· Return trip allowed at no charge if requested with original permit application
· May request five days in advance
Multiple Trip Permit
Width 15 ft. at the Box; 16 ft. at the Roof
Height 15 ft.
Single Vehicle Length 80 ft.
Vehicle Combination Length 100 ft.
Valid for: from 3 to 12 months
Fees: see https://wisconsindot.gov/Documents/formdocs/mv2614.pdf