Simplify Your Oversize/Overweight Loads
DIMENSIONS Width: 8'6" Height: 13' 6" Length: Single Vehicle: 40' Length of semi trailer: 28' Truck-semi-trailer: 57' Legal Overhand: Front 3', Rear 4'
80,000 lb. gross vehicle and cargo weight on 5 axels
Single: 20,000 lb.
Tandem: 40,000 lb.
Tridem 60,000 lb.
Quad: 68,000 lb.
Arkansas Permit Department Contact Information
Fax: 501-569-4998 or 4997
6:00 AM - 4:15 PM Central
One escort behind a load of 100 feet or more in length on Interstates, controlled access, divided highways with four or more lanes, and lead a vehicle on all other highways.
escorts (one leading and one following) are required on all highways
with fewer than four lanes for a load that exceeds 115 feet.
Over Width Vehicles/Loads - Other than Manufactured Homes
One escort behind on loads in excess of 14 ft on on any controlled access, divided highway
with four or more lanes, a permitted vehicle, inclusive of overhangs, clearance lights, eaves, or any
other appurtenance. The
escort vehicle shall travel behind the permitted vehicle or load a
distance of 200 feet.
for manufactured home units, on all highways that are not controlled
access, divided highways with four or more lanes, the movement of any
vehicle, which exceeds 14 feet in width, shall be accompanied by two
escort vehicles. One escort vehicle shall precede the permitted vehicle,
and one escort shall follow it.
for manufactured home units, the movement vehicle over 12 feet wide but not more than 14 feet wide inclusive of overhangs, clearance lights, eaves, or any other
appurtenance, shall be accompanied by one escort vehicle in front of the permitted vehicle.
Overheight loads greater than 15 feet in height must have one
escort vehicle equipped with a clearance bar that extends 6 inches above
the permitted height preceding the load.
Height in excess of 17 feet, the mover shall obtain
written agreements signed by the owners of overhead facilities
(utilities, traffic signals, etc.) along the route and the move shall be
accompanied by representatives of the owners or the mover shall obtain
letters from the owners indicating they are aware of the height of the
over height load and do not desire to have a representative accompany
Single: 20,000 lb.
Tandem: 34,000 lb.
Front (Steer) Axle: 12,000 lb.*
Gross Weight: 80,000 lb.
*The Director may issue permits for a maximum single front/steering axle weight not to exceed 18,000 pounds and a maximum tandem front/steering axle weight not to exceed 32,000 pounds for a period of not more than 12 consecutive months, upon written application containing satisfactory proof that such vehicle(s) are used solely for the above purposes.
A Temporary Trip Permit is valid for 72 hours and costs $33 in Arkansas. This permit is issued in place of IRP plates and can be obtained at the entry port or through a permitting service with some extra processing charges. For vehicles operating unladen and not transferable, a hunter permit is available at the rate $39 with a validity for 30 days. This permits can be obtained through the Arkansas IRP department.
Overweight Fines run from $10 to 3 to 5 cents per pound of overweight.
Any operator found violating the overweight limits
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor. Upon first conviction, an offender
shall be punished by a fine of not more than one hundred dollars ($100).
For a second conviction within one (1) year, an offender shall be
punished by a fine of not more than two hundred dollars ($200). The penalty for overweight conditions are:
0 – 1,000 lbs
Min. Penalty $10 max $20
1,000 – 2,000 lbs
1 – 3 cents per pound of excess weight
2,000 – 3,000 lbs
2 – 4 cents per pound of excess weight
3,000 – 4,000 lbs
3 – 5 cents per pound of excess weight
There is no mention of special lights for oversize loads in Arkansas. Escort vehicles are required to have caution lighting.
Display a plainly legible sign reading "OVERSIZE LOAD" displayed across the front and back. Signs shall be constructed of a durable material. Size: Not specified Letters: 10" high, 2" stroke Background: Yellow
18” red or fluorescent orange flags on all four corners of the load
Permits will be issued for movement during daylight hours only.
No oversized movement through the Greater Little Rock area from 7:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. or 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m. on Interstate 30.
"No permits will be issued for movement on the days that the following holidays are observed: New Year's Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day If a holiday is observed on Monday or Friday, movement on a weekend following a Friday or preceding a Monday shall not be allowed."
It is lawful to use metal studded tires with studs protruding not more than one-sixteenth inch (1/16'') from the surface of the rubber tread on motor vehicles operated on the public highways from November 15 of each year until April 15 of the following year.
Any person violating the provisions of this section shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and shall, upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not less than $25.00 nor more than $50.00.
It shall be permissible to use tire chains of reasonable proportions upon any vehicle when required for safety.
Arkansas has no annual permit requirements.
In Arkansas, all moving traffic violation penalties change when you drive through a marked work zone. You will face double the original fine for speeding and other traffic violations if workers are present when an officer pulls you over.\
Signs that read “road work ahead” also indicate higher fines for violations within those zones.
A special permit issued by the department of transportation is required to lawfully move a manufactured home on interstate and intrastate on the highways, roads, and streets of this state by procuring a permit. No municipality or county shall require local permits, bonds, fees, or licenses for the interstate or intrastate movement of manufactured homes permitted by the department.
A permit shall be required for each single continuous movement of each manufactured home unit.
Manufactured home units in excess of sixteen feet six inches (16'6") in
width may be moved upon the public highways of this state by obtaining
an emergency permit approved by the department. specific factors of approval include:
(1) Maximum overall width; (2) Distance to travel; (3) Condition of the highway; and (4) The volume and type of traffic.